A simple way to out theologically Liberal Christians for the tares and wolves that they are

One of the easiest ways I’ve found to “out” false teachers is to ask if they believe that Jesus is the only way to salvation.  They very rarely do.  They’ll defend their false view with some tidbit they’ve heard then try to change the subject.  Some, like false teacher Chuck “Jesus is not the only way” Currie, come up with entire sermons designed to rationalize away plain texts like John 14:6 (Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.).

Theologically Progressive/Liberals who claim the name of Christ mock the cross and the blood of the martyrs.  They refer to a few Bible verses, though almost always out of context, but if you keep them talking long enough they deny nearly all the essentials of the faith.

What they don’t know is that there are more than 100 passages supporting the truth that Jesus is indeed the only way to salvation.  When you point that out they work overtime to ignore you or change the subject.  Don’t let them do that.  And keep in mind that many of them have Masters or Doctorates in theology yet they have read the Bible so little that they don’t even know that truth!  

Just ask them this: Do you believe that Jesus is the only way to salvation, or do you rationalize away the 100+ passages affirming that truth? Follow-up question: If you deny those passages, then you are denying that the Holy Spirit inspired the original writings, so what is your evidence that the original writings were wrong but that the Holy Spirit is now accurately revealing truths to you?

Here’s what one theological Liberal said on the Sojourners’ blog:

I consider myself Christian although I do not believe that Jesus is the only way to salvation. I consider myself Christian because I seek to obey and to imitate Christ.

My response:

How do you know anything about Christ? Presumably it is from the Bible. But if you dismiss over 100 passages affirming the truth that He is the only way to salvation, why do you find the other passages to be trustworthy, such as the one you quoted (assuming you understood that in context)? If people just hold to the passages they like, then they aren’t following Christ, they are following themselves — that is, the god they have made in their own images by judging the real God and choosing which of his revelations are “real.”

I encourage you to scan the NT and reconsider your views. Jesus prayed in the garden and asked for another way. There wasn’t one. To teach otherwise mocks his work on the cross by implying that it was just one option of many, but not a requirement to save sinners. It also mocks the blood of the martyrs and those being persecuted today. For if Jesus isn’t the only way to salvation, why are these people suffering needlessly for their faith? If those on the theological Left really believed what they said and really loved these people they’d send Reverse Missionaries to de-convert those Christians and encourage them to adopt their local religions. After all, why suffer if Jesus isn’t the only way?

Here’s another typical theologically Liberal comment:

I don’t think it’s possible to bring ‘evidence’, in the sense of rational proof, of the revelations of the Holy Spirit, whether these come through Scripture or through direct experience.

My response:

We agree that the Holy Spirit has a large and unique role. Spiritually dead people will not understand the word. But I encourage you to scan the book of Acts and others to see the Gospel presentations there, and how the Christians referred to facts and logic (OK, and a few miracles) to present their case.

2 Corinthians 4:1 Therefore, since through God’s mercy we have this ministry, we do not lose heart. 2 Rather, we have renounced secret and shameful ways; we do not use deception, nor do we distort the word of God. On the contrary, by setting forth the truth plainly we commend ourselves to every man’s conscience in the sight of God. 3 And even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing. 4 The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God. 5 For we do not preach ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake.

BTW that isn’t even on my list of 100+ passages, but it implicitly shows that you are a follower of the true Christ or you are perishing. You are an unbeliever blinded by the god of this age or you see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, the image of God.

Just keep pointing the Progressives back to the Bible — all of it — and not just their misinterpretations of their favorite verses.  Plant a seed of truth so that whenever they claim to be Christians they’ll know that they are disagreeing with a truth taught more than 100 times in the Bible.

And when they tell you not to judge, point out that they are reading Matthew 7:1 out of context (just read the next 4 verses to see that Jesus is teaching not to judge hypocritically) and show them that they are judging the word of God, which means they are judging God.

Stand to Reason offers a booklet listing 100 passages teaching that Jesus is the only way to salvation, though I have found many more.  Just flip open the New Testament and start reading.  You’ll find that little makes sense outside that truth.

19 thoughts on “A simple way to out theologically Liberal Christians for the tares and wolves that they are”

  1. Wow Neil! What an excellent and biblically accurate post! In our current wishy-washy world, even those who claim to be Christians are actually wolves in sheep’s clothing – dismissing and mocking the cross of Christ. The “cross-less gospel” is popular with liberal leftists because they can hide behind their “religion” while excusing themselves from repentance. What is truly sad is the fact that they are leading so many others astray because of their reprobate minds.

    Thanks for the link to that booklet! Stand to Reason ministries has always been a favorite of mine. Years ago, I attended apologetics classes at Biola University. Greg Koukl taught several of the lessons. He’s very impressive!

    Hope you are having a wonderful Sunday Neil!

    ~ Christine

    Like

    1. I’ll answer you once you answer me: I don’t suppose your comment might be judging me, would it?

      😉

      I will also gladly respond to comments regarding the content of the post.

      Like

      1. Indeed I try to judge nobody, those who do or don’t claim to be Christian. What worries me a little is absolute certainty of understanding the Bible, and insistence that others interpret in the same way as you or I might. “Just keep pointing the Progressives back to the Bible — all of it” … for example
        – where in the Bible does it claim to be the Word of God?
        – is one to take the first chapter literally?
        – what does Jesus actually mean by the words “No one comes to the Father except through me”

        We can all only speak as we find ourselves, and the concept of ‘outing’ those who don’t believe the same is certainly not something I’ve found in the Bible. I find the words of George MacDonald inspired in this respect:

        “If I mistake, He will forgive me. I do not fear him: I fear only lest, able to see and write these things, I should fail of witnessing and myself be, after all, a castaway – no king but a talker; no disciple of Jesus, ready to go with Him to the death, but an arguer about the truth.”
        http://philhemsley.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/the-authors-fear/

        GB
        Phil

        Like

      2. Hi Phil,

        Your comment, while politely phrased, was judging me, which is why I asked my question. In Matthew 7 Jesus doesn’t teach not to judge, rather He teaches not to judge hypocritically. He also says to make sound judgments (John 7:24) and just scanning the NT about examining fruits, warnings of false teachers, etc. will show that sound judgment is an important part of being a Christian.

        If I was making false claims about God I’d want to know it. I am very correctable. So I would consider it loving to have someone tell me.

        I like the George MacDonald quote and trust in that message. If I am mistaken in judging those who deny the exclusivity of Christ then God will forgive me. But I think I’m on pretty solid ground.

        “- where in the Bible does it claim to be the Word of God? ”

        Thousands of verses are direct quotes from God. I found over 1,700 uses of “The Lord said,” “The word of the Lord came to me,” etc. before I got tired of looking. And many of those covered multiple verses. Then there is 2 Timothy 3:16, 2 Peter 3:16, 1 Thess. 2:13, and more.

        “- what does Jesus actually mean by the words “No one comes to the Father except through me”

        Read it in context, along with another 100+ verses. Here are just 10:

        John 14:6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. Acts 4:11-12 He is “‘the stone you builders rejected, which has become the capstone.’ Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved.” Acts 16:30-31 He then brought them out and asked, “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?” They replied, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved—you and your household.” 1 Timothy 2:5 For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, 1 John 2:23 No one who denies the Son has the Father; whoever acknowledges the Son has the Father also. 1 John 5:11-12 And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life. Luke 10:16 “He who listens to you listens to me; he who rejects you rejects me; but he who rejects me rejects him who sent me.” Luke 12:8-9 “I tell you, whoever acknowledges me before men, the Son of Man will also acknowledge him before the angels of God. But he who disowns me before men will be disowned before the angels of God. John 3:18 Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son. John 3:36 Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on him.” John 8:24 I told you that you would die in your sins; if you do not believe that I am the one I claim to be, you will indeed die in your sins.” John 10:7-8 Therefore Jesus said again, “I tell you the truth, I am the gate for the sheep. All who ever came before me were thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them.

        Like

  2. Hello Neil (I think that’s your name?)
    Maybe you felt judged, but I don’t know anything about you, so any judgement on my part can only have been on the content of the post.

    There are indeed lots of places where it says ‘the Lord says’. And I am sure that God has spoken to many people over the millenia. (even George Bush?) But we cannot extrapolate that to say that every word in the Bible is the word of God. (although conversely, everything is creation is sustained by Him, and so perhaps everything is also his word).

    I ‘have a thing’ about the ‘all of it’ phrase you used and Genesis – which some people take to interpret literally. As far back as St Augustine this was a problem, and it remains today. He wrote that “It is a disgraceful and dangerous thing for an infidel to hear a Christian, presumably giving the meaning of the Holy Scripture, talking nonsense on these topics; and we should take all means to prevent such an embarrassing situation…the shame is not so much that an ignorant individual is derided, but that people outside the household of faith think our sacred writers held such opinions, and, to the great loss of those for whose salvation we toil, the writers of our Scriptures are criticised and rejected as unlearned men.”

    The verses you quote are fine, but some interpret ‘through me’ as Jesus being a sort of road block between us and God, and others view ‘through me’ as the complete opposite – that through his actions the curtain is torn in two….

    GB
    Phil

    Like

    1. I think you are equivocating on the word “judge.” It was clear to me that you were judging me for judging. And even if that was a legitimate claim, then I could switch to your definition (i.e., I was just judging what false teachers say and not themselves).

      I don’t have time to do the same word gymnastics on the word literal, other than to say that we should read all scripture in context, based on its genre, etc.

      Those 10 verses were just starters. Just scan the NT: Very, very little makes sense if repenting and trusting in the real Jesus isn’t the only way to salvation.

      Yes, every word in the original writings of the Bible turned out just as God wanted them to. If you take another view then the entire thing is up for grabs and lots of mischief occurs. I call it Leopard Theology — where people claim that the Bible is only inspired in spots and that they are inspired to spot the spots, or Advanced Leopard Theology, where God is also changing spots and adding and removing spots, and, oddly enough, He is only telling theological liberals and progressives. http://tinyurl.com/ykury3s

      Like

  3. Hope it’s OK to add my 2 cents to the dialogue here.

    Unfortunately, liberal Christians often make the same mistakes as non-believers. They equate the necessary correction and reproof by fellow Christians as “judging” others. But the fact is that man can be guilty of “judging” God’s Word and rejecting the truth therein; precisely because it goes against their own personal beliefs regarding what constitutes sin. Instead of agreeing with what God has revealed in Scripture, they want to hold onto their own ideologies or secular beliefs. When they do that (by not utilizing exegesis, Scripture interprets Scripture – meaning proper hermeneutics), then they incorrectly interpret Scripture and thus the true meaning can be lost. Such methods easily lead one astray into heresy and apostasy.

    We are only human – and when I get something biblically wrong, I want my fellow Christian brothers and sisters to correct me! The best way to do so is with Scripture itself! [I must add that Neil’s post uses Scripture masterfully – and thus all that he wrote can be upheld biblically – which is the most important test in sharing the truth!]

    There are many Scriptures that tell us to avoid such misinterpretations. 2 Timothy 2:16-17 is just one example:

    2Ti 3:16

    All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness,

    2Ti 3:17

    that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.

    The importance of the Holy Spirit guiding the born-again believer can’t be emphasized enough! Jesus told us that he would send the Helper (at Pentecost) who will testify of him (Jesus), bring all we have learned back to mind and help us to properly learn, study, and apply Scripture!

    Jhn 15:26

    “But when the Helper comes, whom I shall send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who proceeds from the Father, He will testify of Me.

    Notice that Jesus needed to depart in order for the Holy Spirit to be sent.

    Jhn 16:7

    “Nevertheless I tell you the truth. It is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you; but if I depart, I will send Him to you.

    Jesus also tells us the purpose of sending the Holy Spirit to us:

    Jhn 14:26

    “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.

    And we also find out that the Holy Spirit will abide in us forever:

    Jhn 14:16

    “And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever—

    This is why Jesus claims that he will be with us always, even unto the end of the age:

    Mat 28:18

    And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth.

    Mat 28:19

    “Go therefore[fn] and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,

    Mat 28:20

    “teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen.[fn]

    What’s more, the closer we get to the end times we know that there will be a falling away from the truth. This is why the 2 Timothy 3:16-17 instruction is so crucial when sharing the Gospel of Christ!

    See the book of Jude for one example.

    Like

  4. I like to put it this way. Mankind is always attempting to “catch up to God” in wisdom and knowledge. In doing so, they mistakenly try to place themselves above God and His truth, making up their own rules along the way. Therefore, many often fall far short of the truth.

    Whether people want to admit it or not, they fall far short of actually achieving the goal of knowing absolute truth; precisely because relativism (in all it’s varied categories including moral relativism) blinds them from seeing God’s truth! But we DO have God’s Word to lead us in the right direction and tell us the truth that He has graciously provided in order for us to know Jesus Christ and Him crucified! It is the most important truth that we need to know this side of heaven!

    Like

Leave a Reply

