I told you to drink whole milk!

 

Mainly because it tastes better, but also for health reasons.

First, let’s see what Ron Swanson has to say about skim milk:

If you didn’t find that persuasive enough, read this at the Fooducate blog: Reduced Fat Milk Contributing to Obesity ?!?

1. Very little data exists showing that skim milk helps weight loss

2. Since reduced or non fat dairy might not be as filling as the whole version, it could lead to people consuming more. As a result, overall calorie consumption may be the same or higher than the whole version.

Here are some numbers for you to contemplate:

  • A full fat glass of milk has 150 calories, 8 grams of fat, 5 of them are saturated fat.
  • A glass of skim milk has 90 calories, and no fat.
  • A glass of skim chocolate milk has 160 calories, no fat, but 3-4 teaspoons worth of added sugar!

Maybe children today are drinking skim chocolate milk, whereas a generation ago kids were fine with full fat whole milk, unflavored? Overall, the calories are similar.

The scientists conclude that the recommendation for 3 servings of low fat dairy per day needs to be reconsidered.

By the way, another interesting point with respect to nonfat milk is nutrient bioavailability. The vitamins A, D, E, and K are a wonderful part of milk. But, they are fat soluble, which means they can only be absorbed by the digestive system in the presence of fat. If you drink skim milk, there won’t be any fat for these nutrients to get absorbed with.

Once again, it is best to keep things simple.  The vast majority of things in the grocery store are processed beyond recognition and not good for you. I’m not saying to never eat them.  But make sure you have a foundation of basics that aren’t processed: Fruits, vegetables, dairy, whole grain cereals, etc.  They will give you nutrition and fill you up.  If you eat the processed stuff first your body will crave more because it hasn’t received the nutrition it needs.

Oh, and the real stuff tastes better!

7 thoughts on “I told you to drink whole milk!”

  1. So sorry, Neil, but I have to disagree. Scripture clearly teaches that we should be drinking skim milk. Okay, I can’t keep that up very long. I was raised on skim milk and find whole milk offensive. Not as a matter of principle, but as a matter of taste. The doctor made my mother put me on skim milk and zero calorie drinks in junior high school and I can’t stand the “real” stuff.

    That having been said, having worked at a dairy, the difference between whole milk and its lesser-fat siblings is ludicrous. Sure, skim milk has 0% fat, but then we have 1% and 2% as if these are significantly better. Whole milk, as it turns out, is only 4%. There is only a 4% spread between whole milk and skim milk. Really, folks? That is going to make a significant difference?

    I doubt that skim milk is contributing to obesity, but no one will be able to convince me that it is preventing it either.

    Like

  2. But Neil I’ve been drinking skim milk for the last 15 years (because I thought it was good for me) and now whole, or even 2%, tastes so weird and unappealing to me!

    Like

  3. Totally agree Neil! Ron Swanson’s comment is dead on. I was raised in the early days of Skim Milk and remember the chunks coming out of the bottle. I had converted to 2% and gave up on milk, but one day my brother in law the farmer gave me some cow-fresh whole milk – the joy is back!

    Ever had blue box macaroni and cheese made with skim milk? It’s a whole new level of evil.

    Like

  4. I had to laugh, because I call skim milk “white water.” Many years ago we started getting 2% to save money, and then we got to where whole milk tastes too rich! But I’d rather have whole milk than white water.

    Like

  5. I can’t tolerate any kind of cow’s milk, so I use almond milk. It’s not bad actually and since I can’t have dairy, it doesn’t mess with my stomach :). Love Ron Swanson. He’s so funny.

    Like

Leave a Reply

