Valley of Vision: A collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions

One of the tragedies of how the U.S. teaches history is how the Puritans get distilled down to a silly and false stereotype of being prudish buzzkills.  The truth is that they were very knowledgeable, passionate people.  Valley of Vision: A collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions is a terrific book that has many of their profound prayers and devotions.

It is amazing how this book of prayers that are hundreds of years old that was published almost 40 years ago seems to be everywhere.  I heard about this on Stand To Reason and got it for Christmas.  Then a pastor and an elder at church read from it on separate occasions.  And then Glenn quoted it on Facebook.

I encourage people to get it.  Here’s a sample.  Thanks to Glenn for typing it into Facebook!

O LORD GOD,

Thou hast commanded me to believe in Jesus; and I would flee to no other refuge,
wash in no other fountain, build on no other foundation, receive from no other fullness, rest in no other relief.

His water and blood were not severed in their flow at the cross, may they never be separated in my creed and experiences;

May I be equally convinced of the guilt and pollution of sin, feel my need of a prince and saviour, implore of him repentance as well as forgiveness, love holiness, and be pure in heart, have the mind of Jesus, and tread in his steps.

Let me not be at my own disposal, but rejoice that I am under the care of one who is too wise to err, too kind to injure, too tender to crush.

May I scandalize none by my temper and conduct, but recommend and endear Christ to all around, bestow good on every one as circumstances permit, and decline no opportunity of usefulness.

Grant that I may value my substance, not as the medium of pride and luxury, but as the means of my support and stewardship.

Help me to guide my affections with discretion, to owe no many anything, to be able to give to him that needeth, to feel it is my duty and pleasure to be merciful and forgiving, to show to the world the likeness of Jesus.

2 thoughts on “Valley of Vision: A collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions”

  1. As with any group, there was a mixture of good and bad. They came to this continent to escape persecution of the state church in Europe for not conforming to the state church. They established state churches in the colonies and persecuted those who refused to conform to their state churches. Here’s an interesting look at how they ran things in their communities: http://www.reformedreader.org/puritans/sabbath.puritan.newengland/sabbath.puritan.newengland.titlepage.htm

    And here’s a first hand report of how they handled non-conformists: http://elbourne.org/baptist/ofbl_docs/john%20clarke%27s%20ill%20news%20final.pdf

    They weren’t the simple prudes some make them out to be. And they weren’t the humble people of God others think them to be. Just like us, they were inconsistent and had blind spots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

