False teacher Rachel Held Evans on World Vision

As painful as the LGBTQX debate can be, there is one significant benefit: It shines a light on who the sheep and goats are in the church.  While we don’t have a perfect view of the invisible church (i.e., the body of those truly saved by Jesus), issues like this certainly make it more clear.  While people can be “saved and confused” on some topics, for “Christian” leaders to be this far off the mark is great evidence against them.

Rachel Held Evans has had a lot of squishy, creepy, anti-biblical teachings for years, but she really came out of the closet on this one.  In Who’s this child sponsorship about, anyway?, she initially harangued existing World Vision donors to stick with WV even though they had (temporarily) taken an anti-biblical view on marriage.  Their love of the world was clear to many donors, including me.  Evans insisted that it was all about the kids and that donors shouldn’t move their funds.  But she was celebratory about the change.

Then, two days later, she went into full “Oh, the humanity!” mode and noted how “betrayed” brand new pro-LGBTQX donors must feel.  Oddly, she never thought about how Bible-believing Christians might have felt betrayed by the initial change.

UPDATE:

My sources are confirming that, after pressure from evangelicals, World Vision has decided to reverse their decision on employing gay and lesbian people.

Yes, we pressured them.  I let them know that I would finish my current commitments and then shift my giving to organizations that didn’t mock the word of God.

I don’t know what to say. I really don’t.

For those of you who donated, thank you. That money will be put to good use, I assure you. But I am deeply, profoundly sorry that I inadvertently rallied these fundraising efforts in response to a decision that would ultimately be reversed.

Is Evans so naive to think that WV did that without LGBTQX pressure?  If they caved to them, why wouldn’t the cave again when faced with the loss of funds?

Though I sincerely hope everyone who sponsored a child or made a donation will continue to support World Vision, I can see how this effort would make you feel betrayed, as though it were launched under false pretense. And I’m so, so sorry for that. I’m as surprised by all this as you are, but I take full responsibility.

Full responsibility?  She’ll be giving them their money back?

Yes, betrayal is a good word to describe the initial change.

This whole situation has left me feeling frustrated, heartbroken, and lost. I don’t think I’ve ever been more angry at the Church, particularly the evangelical culture in which I was raised and with which I for so long identified. I confess I had not realized the true extent of the disdain evangelicals have for our LGBT people, nor had I expected World Vision to yield to that disdain by reversing its decision under pressure. Honestly, it feels like a betrayal from every side.

No, we are just still trusting the word of God.  And we love homosexuals too much to lie and tell them to stay in that lifestyle.  But Evans & Co. love the world and their popularity more than Jesus.

Something has to change. And I’m committed to being a part of that change. But not today.

Today, I don’t know what else to do but grieve with everyone else who feels like a religious refugee today. This sucks, and I’m so, so sorry.

I hope you take some comfort in the fact that perhaps, as a result of our petty warring, some kids were sponsored today.

So it was no big deal to change to the pro-gay view, but a huge deal to switch back two days later.  Got it.

We’ve sponsored WV children for 16 years. I will continue until they are out of the program but will move my donations elsewhere after that. The local organizations do great work (we’ve visited our Kenya child 5 times and have been really impressed with the field office) but the worldwide organization is obviously troubled.  I have plenty of other organizations I can give to.

World Vision has made a big mistake: By trying to please the LGBTQX lobby and not anticipating the reaction of Bible-believing Christians, they’ve alienated both sides. That’s to be expected when you try to please the world and take anti-biblical stances.

But the good news is that no one has to wonder if Rachel Held Evans and the like are to be trusted or not.  They have made it crystal-clear that they are wolves in sheep’s clothing.

16 thoughts on “False teacher Rachel Held Evans on World Vision”

  1. Rachel is only in the media, and paid attention to, because she wrote that horrid book. If it wasn’t for that, no one would give a tinker’s damn about her opinions. Of course those of us who follow the teachings of the Bible still don’t care about her opinions.

    Like

    1. It’s about time regenerate people start saying enough is enough. We are to be Christians not pragmatists. If people like Rachel want to be accepting, why not accept christian wife beaters, christian alcoholics, christian murderers, christian pedophiles,etc. I am being sarcastic but GD will not be mocked. People like Rachel need to plead the blood of Jesus on their souls and confess their sins.

      Like

  2. In “discussing” this situation on line, one person suggested that WV does not consider the potential increase in donations that are now lost by reversing their course. I have no doubt that Evangelical response led them to weigh which direction would most adversely affect donations and then came to the conclusion that a pro-homosexual position would result in greater loss.

    Related to that, another person suggested that WV only cares about donations. Well, why wouldn’t they considering donations is what allows them to help children in need? It is a reasonable conundrum to decide whether to appear to acquiesce to the homosexual lobby so as to garner more donations. To put kids at risk simply to appease either side of the issue is a true rock/hard place situation.

    However, a far better move than thinking such a choice need be made, is to ask of the activist/enabler if their selfish demands are more important than the needs of the most at risk children in the world. As Ben Shapiro encourages, we must always take the offensive and force the opposition to account for their behavior.

    Like

  3. It’s funny Rave-el Evans said, “Simply swapping out sponsored children as one would trade in an old car reveals the fact that that your sponsorship isn’t really about the child and the community your sponsorship helps; it’s about you. It’s about feeling good about the face on the refrigerator, regardless of whose face it is.”
    If it’s really about the children and the organization I say from a pragmatic perspective, then she should advocate World(ly) Vision not rocking the boat to ensure children get their support…after all, it’s about the children not the organization, right?

    Like

  4. I have a few friends who like to post stuff on facebook from her and other bloggers just like her. It really troubles me. I notice there is a movement where we try to not focus on sin or theology at all but rather on doing good things. I’m all for serving and doing good things. But if the primary message isn’t about atonement through Christ then what lasting good have we done?

    Like

  5. I have no idea who this lady is,nor do I care as I strive to separate myself from popular culture- that includes popular Christian culture. In these days we should look to no one but God. NO ONE. Open your Bible, read it, and pray on it. Deception is lurking at every corner and if you look to man, you will surely find it. Allow the Holy Spirit to be your teacher.

    Like

Leave a Reply

