You can’t count on Cunnane

Update at the bottom.

This is just a quick post to share my disappointments with our house builder, the Cunnane Group.

If you make the mistake of going with Cunnane, be sure to get everything fixed before they finish your neighborhood. The responsiveness drops off completely after that. Just one example: They couldn’t get our master shower grout right after four tries and then had the nerve to refer us to 3rd parties that we’d have to pay.  Grout is not a cosmetic issue, and gaps can lead to serious water damage.  And they refused to discuss it or explain why. It is always disappointing to see businesses sacrifice their integrity and reputations to save a couple bucks.

I had initially left positive messages about them on various review sites, so now I’ll need to go back and fix those.

I’ll also be contacting the BBB, but there can’t be any real resolution at this point.  If you can’t get something simple like grout right after four tries, then house building may not be your forte’.  I’m weary of the clown show that is their warranty department.  So I’ll just find a competent repair person while I warn my neighbors about Cunnane.

It takes a special kind of foolishness to be 99.9% complete with a business relationship and then torch your reputation over an immaterial amount of money.

Update

They had completely ignored me until I let them know I’d be leaving bad reviews and writing this post, but then they finally responded defensively.

An excerpt:

We did the best we could under the circumstances. We regrouted your shower 3x.

Part of my response:

You did not do the best you could under the circumstances.  That would have involved getting shower grout right the first time. Or the 2nd.  Or the 3rd. Or the 4th.  And then not just telling me to pay for it myself.   And then not refusing to call me.  You calling that your “best” proves all my points.  A good company would say, “Wow, I’m so sorry for all the trouble! I commit to getting it done right once and for all.”  You have demonstrated what kind of company you are.

Re. “We regrouted your shower 3x.”  Yes, that’s true, because you did it wrong the first time AND on all three retries!  Glad we agree.  Classic.  Again, feel free to tell the BBB and others how unreasonable I am for expecting you to get shower grout done properly.

And they wrote this:

You threaten me with bad reviews of my company.

My response:

You misunderstood.  That wasn’t a threat, just a statement of fact.  If I had said, “Fix my grout or else I’ll leave bad reviews,” that would have been a threat.  My message was: You had your chances and communicated (and then deliberately failed to communicate at all) in bad faith, so even if you offered to come out now I’d refuse.  Therefore I’m reversing the good reviews I had given and changing them to bad ones.  And adding new bad ones.

It is interesting how many points people will concede when they are in defense-mode!

2 thoughts on “You can’t count on Cunnane”

  1. Yeah, definitely a 1st world problem, but irritating. I just wanted to close it out with a “love my neighbor” warning to others and to hopefully encourage them to do the right thing from now on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

